Soup Making

For this assignment, I have decided to make a Filipino dish called, “Bulalo.” It is a basic beef soup, with corn on the cob, beef shank, baby bokchoy, and green onions.

I have decided to make this particular soup because it is my favorite thing to eat when I am feeling under the weather and that is the current state I am in.

To start the soup, I prepared all the ingredients that I will be using.

  • 2 1/2lbsBeef Shank
  • 4 Whole Corn
  • 500g Baby bokchoy
  • Black Pepper
  • 4 Green onions
  • 1 1/2 Cabbage
  • 2 Green chili
  • 2 tbsp Fish sauce
  • 10 Cups of Water
  • Salt to taste

iphone-107

I start by putting 10 cups of water in a stock pot along with onions, black pepper, 2 tbsp of fish sauce, and the beef shank. I bring that to a boil then simmer it for 1-1 1/2hrs.

Once the meat is tender, I add salt if needed and when I have adjusted the taste, the corn goes in the stock pot.Simmer for 10-15mins or until the corn is soft.

Afterwards, the cabbage may go in.

iphone-110

Simmer for about 5-7mins.

Once the cabbage is cooked, baby bokchoy and the green onions are the last ingredients. Make sure it is submerged in the stock.

iphone-112

Let the baby bokchoy cook. Then serve.

My final product looked like this.

iphone-113

In my opinion, the stock is a bit greasy. I should have trimmed off the fat before i began. Maybe I should have removed the corn from the cob so the person eating it gets a bit of sweetness with the spicy stock. The cabbage should have been cut smaller so it looks more presentable. Overall I think the flavors are good and it made me feel a lot better.

For this assignment, I have asked my girlfriend’s mom to try the soup. Right off the bat she told me that I should have sliced the cabbage smaller. She takes her first sip of the soup and I can tell by her facial expression that the spice hit her really hard.

She says, “That’s really spicy.” (In Spanish)

As she clears her throat from the spice, she then proceeded to tell me that the flavors are fantastic but she’s cannot tolerate spicy food. She also mentioned that it looks good and also made a comment on removing the corn from the cob.

I think the biggest challenge in cooking is trying to match everyone else’ palettes. Just because something tastes good to you, does not mean it will taste great for everyone else. I think the soup I have made was a success. Now that I know how much spice to put in for the next time I try to impress my girlfriend’s mom.

I encourage everyone to make this soup as it is very easy and it tastes great. Traditionally, it is served over rice, but without it is just as good.

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

