Pickling

For this assignment, I have decided to pickle cucumbers in vinegar, soy sauce, and star anise.

Here is the recipe list I have decided to use:

  • 1 whole cucumber, sliced on a bias
  • 30mL of white vinegar
  • 15mL of soy sauce
  • 2 dried star anise
  • brown sugar and black pepper to taste

I proceeded to put everything in the fridge covered in saran wrap for about two hours.

img_289111.jpg

I have decided to use this recipe because I remember back in the Philippines, my uncles and aunts would make something similar during a hot day and I have never tried it. The only variation that I have implemented is the brown sugar and the star anise.

After the pickling process, this is how it turned out:

IMG_2892[1]

Right away, I realize that the cucumber took on a darker color and the black pepper is everywhere. Maybe I ought to use white pepper next time.

The aroma is quite peppery and the smell of the soy sauce is evident, but most of all, the vinegar aroma overpowers everything else.

I pick a sliced cucumber up and instantly realized that it kept its integrity and its not soggy.

I bite the cucumber and I get a an almost suffocating taste of pepper. Perhaps less pepper next time (if there is one). The pickling juice is sweet and… not refreshing, but different. I have yet to determine whether I like it or not.

Overall, I’m not a huge fan of this at all and I wonder how my family ate this… but the picking juice itself is interesting, perhaps trying it with a different ingredient could be something great.

Leave a Reply

