Fruit Hunter

For this blog, I have decided to go to Superking Supermarket located at 1635 Lawrence Ave W, North York, ON M6L 3C9. The reason I went there is because is when I was younger, I used to go there to do groceries. There are a wide variety of produce and the price is cheaper compared to other markets. I am also very familiar to the place and area. IMG_2904[2]Here is a picture of me holding probably the biggest jack fruit I have ever seen.

Here is a short video that I made throughout my day:

http://www.kizoa.com/Movie-Video-Slideshow-Maker/d104798689k9342642o1l1/fruit-hunter

I have decided to choose dragon fruit because I have never tried it and the fruit itself is very eye-catching. The colours of the fruit is just so fascinating. It was also a pleasure to see what was inside when I had finally sliced it open.

1st Step:

Wash your dragon fruit

.IMG_2911[1]

2nd Step:

Slice it in half. Lengthwise.

IMG_2912[1].JPG

3rd Step:

You can use a spoon to just scoop out the fruit, but I used a knife to slice along the edge of the fruit to separate it from the skin. Then I just pulled the fruit out. Then sliced it.

IMG_2914[1]

A little bit of facts about dragon fruit or also known as pitaya:

The fruit I bought was about $6 at the market I went to, but if you watched the video, Metro at Bathurst & Lawrence was selling it for about $9.

The fruit itself didn’t really have a distinct smell like durian, or jack fruit, or oranges. It smelled almost like cucumbers, very subtle, I can’t quite describe the smell of it. The visual aspect of the dragon fruit is quite intriguing. The one I bought had a pink skin, but there was one at the market with an orange hue. The fruit definitely catches your attention and it’s quite beautiful.

Moving on to the taste. It was pretty sweet, but the taste was not as strong as I expected it to be. It was almost like eating a kiwi. The texture was a bit weird to me, it had a lot of seeds and it created a sort of crunch to it. Overall the fruit was soft to the palate and mouth.

I’m not quite sure what I would do if I were to cook this, so I looked up some recipes, I have found this recipe on Pinterest. Link will be posted below.

Vegan Dragon Fruit Cheesecake

Produce

  • 1 Lemon, juice of
  • 1 tsp Lemon, zest
  • 1 1/4 cup Medjool dates

Canned Goods

  • 3/4 cup Coconut cream

Condiments

  • 1/2 cup Brown rice syrup
  • 2 tbsp Maple syrup

Baking & Spices

  • 1/4 cup Cocoa powder
  • 1 pinch Salt
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract

Oils & Vinegars

  • 6 tbsp Coconut oil

Nuts & Seeds

  • 2 cup Cashews
  • 1 cup Walnuts

Other

  • 1 cup dragon fruit, chopped*
  • ½ cup raspberries

It does sound quite appetizing. Stay tuned and when I have time, I will write about the cheesecake.

Here is the link to Pinterest.

I thoroughly enjoyed the fruit and I will definitely try to get more of it from now on.

Thanks for the read!

 

Leave a Reply

