Prime Rib

For this assignment, I chose a prime rib bought from The Meat Department.

You can check out their Facebook group here.

I was told that all their beef are bought local and lambs are bought from Stratford. Personally, I’ve never really paid attention to the quality difference when the meat comes from a foreign place. Perhaps I should start…

The prime rib is a cut of beef from the primal rib. This particular piece of meat cost $30CND and it was definitely worth it. img_2978-e1496269112209.jpg

Opening the packaging, you instantly see all the fat starting to marble the meat.

img_2979.jpg

 

For this particular steak, I decided to pan sear it with:

  • Half a spoon of rosemary
  • A teaspoon of thyme
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 150g Butter
  • Tbsp of Olive Oil

Dry the piece of steak and dust salt and pepper.

I started by coating the skillet with vegetable oil, butter, and my rosemary and thyme. I would have done it with just butter but I was afraid of the butter burning and changing the taste of my steak. Once the pan is hot, I place the steak and hear the most beautiful sizzling sound. Each side was cooked around 4 1/2 – 5 minutes. I then covered the steak in tin foil and let it rest for 15mins before cutting into it.

Here’s how it looked:

IMG_2980

Overall, I was pretty happy the way it turned out and I definitely prefer pan seared than grilled steaks. I would like to try sous vides one day, but that’s a whole other post…

Thanks for the read.

Leave a Reply

